Match Report: Aduana Stars 0-0 AshGold, Resilient Miners frustrate defending Champions to a goalless stalemate  

Defedning Ghana Premier League champions Aduana Stars were frustrated to a disappointing goalless draw at home by title chasers AshantiGold SC.

The crunchy Match week 13 encounter with the home side failing to make their rich form at Dormaa count and Coach Paa Kwesi Fabin left frustrated in his first home game since assuming the role of Head Coach.

The Aduana Stars gaffer made one change to his starting lineup as he introduced John Nyamekye. Former Ashgold captain Joshua Tijani was also handed a starting berth to face his former side for the first time since he left.

Ashgold also made three changes. Atta Kusi came in for the suspended Kwadwo Amoako at right back while Eric Esso also slotted in at the expense of James Akaminko.

Latif Anabila also made way for Frank Akoto in the middle.

Despite being fiercely contested the game finished scoreless as both teams had to settle for a point.

The draw leaves Aduana on 24 points, same as league leaders Medeama SC and second placed Asante Kotoko.

AshGold with the draw increase their tally to 22 points and lie 5th on the league log.


Joseph Addo (Gk), Isaac Kwain, Paul Aidoo, Farouk Adams, Joshua Tijani, Noah Martey (Cpt), Elvis Opoku, Samuel Bioh, Jean Flavien Kongoza, Yahaya Mohammed, John Nyamekye


Inusah Massawudu, Pius Asante Yeboah, Alfred Opoku, Supe Norbert, Musah Amevoh, Ousu Benjamin, Nathan Kwasi Richard

AshantiGold Start List:

Frank Boateng (Gk), Atta Kusi, Yussif Mubarak, Samed Ibrahim, Eric Donkor, Eric Esso, Appiah McCarthy (Cpt), Frank Akoto, Amos Kofi Nkrumah, Benedict Damlen Wobenu, Emmanuel Osei Baffour


Robert Dabuo, James Akaminko, Roland Amouzou, Abdul Latif Anabila, Emmanuel Owusu, Stephen Banahene, Benjamin Eshun

Match Summary:

38′ Ibrahim Samed Yellow Card (AshGold)

41′ Mubarik Yussif Yellow Card (AshGold)

47′ Isaac Kwain Yellow Card (Aduana)

50′ Noah Martey Substitution Out Richard Kwesi Nathan Substitute-in (Aduana)

70 ‘ Substitution Out Frank Akoto Substitute-in James Akaminko (AshGold)

79′ Substitution Out Benedict Damlen Webonu Substitute-in Benjamin Eshun (AshGold)

85’ Substitution Out Emmanuel Osei Baffour Substitute-in Abdul Latif Anabila (AshGold)

Related posts