Partey, Jordan Ayew dropped as Caf cuts down nominees for AFOTY award

Thomas Partey and Jordan Ayew have been omitted from the latest 10-man shortlist for 2019 CAF African Player of the Year.

The duo were the only Ghanaian on a preliminary 30-man roster unveiled for the elite continental individual honour last month.

Egyptian star Mohammed Salah scooped the prestigious prize for the second consecutive time last year and is once again in the mix.

Senegalese player and fellow Liverpool teammate Sadio Mane is the bookmakers favorite to win this year’s award after his stupendous performances for club and country during the period under review.

Below is the list of 10 remaining nominees for the 2019 AFPOTY:

Andre Onana 🇨🇲
Hakim Ziyech 🇲🇦
Ismail Bennacer 🇩🇿
Kalidou Koulibaly 🇸🇳
Mohamed Salah 🇪🇬
Odion Ighalo 🇳🇬
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang 🇬🇦
Riyad Mahrez 🇩🇿
Sadio Mane 🇸🇳
Youcef Belaili 🇩🇿

The list will be pruned down to three before the awards ceremony on Tuesday, 7 January 2020 at the Citadel Azure, Hurgada, Egypt.

Related posts