Walewale Catholic Stars win Zida Invitational Tournament in Bolga

Lower tier side Walewale Catholic Stars emerged champions of the just ended Zida invitational tournament at the St Johns Park in Bolgatanga of the Upper East region.

The tournament was organized by the President of Bolga All Stars Salifu Zida who aims to keep players of the region active and fit in the absence of competitive football in the country.

The Walewale based division two side, who exhibited good football in all their seven matches, beat tournament favorites Bolga Soe Soccer Masters 3-2 on penalties after a goalless draw after regulation time.

Both teams lost their opening matches with Soe Soccer Masters losing 1-0 to eventual third placed side Zorko United and Catholic Stars also losing 1-0 to Bolga All Stars.

However, both teams recovered in their subsequent games to finished second in their respective groups with Soccer Masters ending the group stage with 10 points in group A, While Catholic Stars finishing with 8 points in group B.

Both teams beat their semifinals opponents with eased, Soccer Masters beating Gambigo Ashford FC 3-0 while Catholic Stars beat Zorko United 2-0 to set up an entertaining grand finale.

Coming into this match, Soccer Masters had early beaten Walewale Catholic Stars 3-1 in the first round of the regional division two league and were highly optimistic of recording another victory over them but the game turned up to be a different one as chances were few and far for both teams.

The game eventually ended goalless with Catholic Stars winning via the penalty lottery 3-2.

For winning the tournament Catholic Stars took home a trophy and a sum of Ghc1,500 with second place, Soccer Masters going home with Ghc1000
Footballs were presented to all the 12 teams that took part in the tournament.

Zorko United beat Gambigo Ashford FC 2-0 to win the third position.

Raphael Koomson of Catholic Stars won the best player of the tournament, with Sulemana Faurok of Real Bolga United taking the golden glovers award as the best goalkeeper and Soccer Masters Kuka Issah ended the tournament with the golden boot after he netted four goals ,more than any other player.

In all 12 teams took part in the tournament and they are Zaurungo FC, Nyariga Fire Babies, Bolga FC, Black Arrows FC, Soccer Stars, Ashford FC, Zorko United, Yorogo Young Stars, Soccer Masters, Walewale Catholic Stars, Bolga All Stars and Real Bolga United.

In his closing remarks, Mr Issifu Zida, coordinator of the games hinted of organizing a similar tournament before the end of the year to help keep the teams active and well prepare for competitive football after the normalization committee works.

Credit : Abagna Jose Nelson

Related posts