Nominees for 43rd SWAG Awards

The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) has released the list of outstanding sports men and women for their 43rd annual awards night.

A statement signed by SWAG General Secretary, William Ezah, named Daniel Nii Adjei, formerly of TP Mazembe, DRC), Thomas Teye Partey, Atletico Madrid, Spain; Christian Atsu, Newcastle, England and Richard Boakye-Yiadom, Red Star Belgrade, Serbia) as the nominees for the Footballer of the Year award.

The statement said, Thomas Abbey, Hearts of Oak; Amos Frimpong, Kotoko and Stephen Sarfo, Berekum Chelsea comprised the list for another version of the Footballer of the Year Award designed for players on the domestic scene.

The statement said, the Association will in the second week of January officially launch the event at a ceremony to announce details of the awards night, which will also coincide with activities of the 50th Anniversary Celebration of SWAG. Below is the full list of nominees.

Footballer of the Year
Daniel Nii Adjei – TP Mazembe, DRC
Thomas Teye Partey – Atletico Madrid, Spain
Christian Atsu – Newcastle, England
Richard Boakye-Yiadom, Red Star Belgrade, Serbia

Footballer of the Year, Local
Thomas Abbey, Hearts of Oak
Amos Frimpong, Kotoko
Stephen Sarfo, Berekum Chelsea

Female Footballer of the Year
Priscilla Adubea, Ampem Darkoa Ladies
Priscilla Okyere, Ampem Darkoa Ladies
Ruth Appiah, Lady Strikers

National Team of the Year
Local Black Stars
Black Sticks, Female Hockey Team
Golden Arms, Arm Wrestling

Coach of the Year
Carl Lokko, Coach of Richard Commey
Yussif Abubakar (Aduana)
Carl Pierce (Weightlifting) 

Professional Boxer of the Year
Isaac Dogboe

Duke Micah, WBC Int. Bantamweight Champion

Association President of the Year
Mawuko Afadzinu, Table Tennis
Herbert Mensah, Rugby
Paul Achoe, Volleyball
Charles Osei Asibey, Arm Wrestling
Evans Yeboah, Badminton Fed
Frederick Otu Lartey, Taekwondo

Most Promising Star of the Year
Richmond Osafo, Weightlifting
David Abagna, Wa All Stars

Female Club of the Year
Ampem Darkoah Ladies

Male Club of the Year
Aduana Stars, Ghana Premier League

GRA Male Hockey team

Dedication and Valour
George Bankole, Handball
Ofori Asare, Boxing

Weightlifter of the Year
Christian Amoah

Discovery of the Year
David Akwei, Weightlifting
Isaac Nii Amugi, Arm Wrestling
Suzzy Dede Teye, Lady Strikers & Black Maidens

Hockey Player of The Year
Salia Nsalbini

Golfer of the Year
Vincent Torgah

Badminton Player of the Year
Emmanuel Yaw Donkor
Grace Atipaka

Volleyball Player of The Year
Richard Amanor

Special Awards
Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor, Sanford
Alex Asante, Ghana Football Association

Dr. K. D. Asante
Dr. Paa Kwesi Ndoum
Dr. Martin Engmann

Para-Athlete of the Year
Charles Narh Teye
Haruna Tahiru (Armwreslting)

Cyclist of the Year

Anthony Boafo Dankwa Boakye

Kickboxer of the Year

Alhassan Okine


Related posts